As of January 1, 2014, the Florida minimum wage was raised by 14 cents an hour, bringing Florida’s minimum wage to $7.93. This increase makes Florida’s minimum wage 68 cents above the federal minimum wage. Since Florida’s minimum wage and the federal minimum wage are different, the higher standard applies. This means the full-time minimum wage per week is $317.20 based on an eight hour work day before taxes. The rate is increased annually based on a cost of living formula.
The 14 cent rate increase also affects tipped employees in Florida. Tipped workers in Florida must make $4.91 an hour. The cash wage or direct wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards a tipped employee’s hourly minimum wage. The “maximum tip credit” is the amount of tips one will need on top of the cash wage to make the minimum wage of $7.93 per hour. If a tipped employee does not receive sufficient tips in the workweek to reach the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, the employer must make up the difference by providing a tip credit.
Call Marrero & Wydler to determine if your business or employment is covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, FLSA, at (305) 446-5528. Minimum wage and overtime payments require individual and enterprise coverage by the FLSA for the violations to apply. Our experienced South Florida employment attorneys will provide a free initial consultation.